Car Insurance Rates and Driving Records

By: August 1, 2013 Tips for Drivers

How Does the Point System Work?

Depending on the state you live in, certain traffic offenses will carry a certain number of points. The number of points per infraction vary, as well as the limit on the number of points you can carry on your license before it is suspended.

Each offense will remain on your license for a certain length of time before it falls off. The more points you carry on your license, the higher your insurance rate will be, until the offense falls off your driving record.

Points and Insurance Rates: North Carolina

In North Carolina, there’s a complex point system. When you’re granted a driver’s license, you start with zero points. If you get 12 points within a three year period, you could face a license suspension. What can you get points for, and how many points can you expect?

  • Littering involving a motor vehicle: 1
  • Failure to stop for siren: 3
  • No liability insurance: 3
  • Running through stop sign: 3
  • Speeding more than 55 mph: 3
  • Failure to yield right-of-way to pedestrian pursuant to GS 20-158(b)(2)b: 4
  • Reckless driving: 4
  • Hit and run, property damage only: 4
  • Passing a stopped school bus loading or unloading children: 5
  • Aggressive driving: 5

Commercial drivers face stiffer penalties here. Some violations, such as parking violations carry no points.

Points and Insurance Rates: Colorado

  • Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol: 12
  • Driving while impaired by alcohol: 8
  • Leaving an accident scene: 12
  • Speed contests: 12
  • Evading an officer: 12
  • Reckless driving: 8
  • Careless driving: 4
  • Failure to yield right-of-way: 3
  • Speeding 5 to 9 mph over limit: 1
  • Speeding 10 to 19 mph over limit: 4
  • Speeding: 20 to 39 mph over limit: 6
  • Speeding: 40+ mph over limit: 12
  • Failure to show proof of insurance: 4
  • Improper passing: 4

Adults (21+) can lose their license for:

  • 12 points in 12 consecutive months
  • 18 points in 24 consecutive months

Minors between the ages of 18 and 21 could lose their license for:

  • Nine points in 12 consecutive months
  • 12 points in 24 consecutive months
  • 14 or more points between the ages of 18-21

Minors under the age of 17 could lose their license for:

  • Six points in 12 consecutive months
  • Seven points prior to turning 18

Points and Insurance Rates: Florida

  • Leaving the scene of an accident with damage of at least $50: 6
  • Speed violations resulting in an accident: 6
  • Driving recklessly: 4
  • Moving violations that cause an accident: 4
  • Attempting to pass a school bus that has stopped: 4
  • Exceeding the posted speed limit by 16 mph or more: 4
  • Ignoring traffic control signals or devices: 4
  • Minors driving during restricted hours: 3
  • Exceeding the posted speed limit by 15 mph or less: 3
  • All other moving violations not previously mentioned: 3
  • Curfew violations: 3
  • Driving with an open container: 3
  • Violating child restraint regulations: 3

You’ll be suspended if you accrue:

  • 12 points within a 12-month period: 30-day suspension
  • 18 points within an 18-month period: three-month suspension
  • 24 points within a 36-month period: one-year suspension

Minors who accrue 12 points in six months will get a “business only” license for work and school purposes only.

When it comes to your driving record, that is certainly one place where you do not want to score points. When you get points, you’re demonstrating to the insurance company that you are a greater risk, so your insurance rates will go up. The amount will depend on a variety of factors, including the infraction causing the points, your history, and the kind of car you drive. Check with your local DMV office to learn more about the infractions and assigned point values in your area, as well as the status of your driving record.

Compare Free Quotes Online Top Insurance Companies Car Insurance

Your Zip Code:


DMV Points and Consequences

Compare Free Quotes Online
Top Car Insurance Companies
Car Insurance

Your Zip Code: